When I was preparing What To Do I drew lots and lots of domes, in pencil and biro and colour-coded felt-tip pens. The fifteen domes above are cut out from the script I used for the talk itself, where I’d drawn them in margins to remind me what to copy on the flip-chart as I went along. The different colours are to show me which parts to draw in what order, and they correspond with sentences in the script underlined in the same colours.

I’m thinking of writing an essay which would use dozens and dozens of these domes in place of words. The live experience of attending the talk itself was a crucial part of the original piece, so I’ve been looking forward to trying to create a similar effect, or make a similar point, in a transferable medium like writing or drawing. I’ve got a few weeks to work on this I think.

